Back to Top

May 25, 2017

Five Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) employees recently received the League for Innovation in the Community College’s 2016 John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award. The award celebrates leadership and exceptional contributions made by community college faculty and staff.

“We are so proud of our winners,” said Dr. Dawn Lindsay, college president. “Professors across disciplines at AACC continuously demonstrate their passion for students and learning through a high level of expertise and innovation in and outside of the classroom. It’s great to see them recognized by the League for that commitment.”

AACC faculty members recognized are:

Recipients were honored during a special ceremony at the league's 19th annual Innovations conference this spring in San Francisco. The awards are open to League Alliance member institutions to celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff.

The League for Innovation in the Community College is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to catalyzing the community college movement. In addition, the league aims to cultivate innovation in the community college environment by focusing on diversity, equity and inclusion; information technology; leadership development; learning and student success; research and practice; and workforce development.

AACC is one of 500 - institutions holding membership in the league, and Lindsay is one of 20 leaders serving on the board of directors.

John E. and Suanne D. Roueche have been partners and friends of the League for Innovation in the Community College for more than 35 years.

AACC is an award-winning, fully accredited public two-year institution serving approximately 46,000 students each year through classes offered at more than 100 sites in Anne Arundel County or online. AACC offers national and regional studies leading to a degree, certificate, industry credential, transfer to a four-year institution or career enhancement, personal enrichment and lifelong learning. For information visit