Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

7 Receiving Honors at Dr. MLK Jr. Memorial Breakfast

Jan. 8, 2010

      Tickets are still available for the 29th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast at Anne Arundel Community College on Monday, Jan. 18. Featuring U.S. Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger as keynote speaker, the event will honor seven community award recipients and nine student essay winners.

      Doors open at 7:30 a.m. and the breakfast begins at 8 a.m. in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium on the AACC Arnold campus, 101 College Parkway. The breakfast honors local residents and civic leaders who best emulate the spirit of Dr. King and salutes winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. essay contest sponsored by the Annapolis chapter of The Links Inc.

      Ruppersberger represents Maryland’s second district, which includes parts of Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County and Harford County. He is serving his fourth term in the U.S. House of Representatives. Those receiving honors are:

* Jean Adams of Annapolis, recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award from the Human Relations Commission of the city of Annapolis. She has provided extensive support to the homeless for almost a decade through Asbury Broadneck United Methodist Church, the Arundel House of Hope, the Warm Nights program and is cofounder of Friendly Haven, an organization that assists the homeless.

* The late Philip and Rachel Brown of Annapolis, recipients of the Dallas G. Pace Sr. Humanitarian Award from the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission. The late Philip Brown was an author, historian and educator and Rachel Brown is a lifelong educator. The couple founded the Colored Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County in 1938 and led a lawsuit against the Anne Arundel County Board of Education regarding pay inequities for black teachers.

* Joyce Phillip of Crofton, recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award from the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County. Hoyle has served the community for years and worked in human resource management positions, most recently for University Physicians Inc.’s Faculty Practices of the University of Maryland School of Medicine and prior to that, Anne Arundel Medical Center.

* Bishop James Rollins of Odenton, recipient of the Leon H. White Clergy Memorial Award from the United Christian Clergy Alliance of Anne Arundel County. A founder and senior pastor of Living Waters Worship Center and a former prison warden, Rollins has served as president of the alliance and is active in the community.

* Beatrice Smith of Annapolis, recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award from the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Committee. Active in her community, she is a lifetime member of Asbury United Methodist church, the Methodist Women, the Altar Guild and a booster of the Asbury Ushers.

* Nicole Williams, Ph.D., of Baltimore, recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Zeitgeist Award from the Anne Arundel Community College Black Student Union. An associate professor of human services at AACC, Williams is active in the community as a board member for Jewel House Inc. and a mentor for Big Brothers and Big Sisters. She works with the AACC Student Achievement and Success program, is faculty adviser for the college Human Services club and active with other college groups.

      Tickets cost $35 each or $350 for a table for 10. They are limited and sold on a first-come basis. Event proceeds will help maintain Maryland’s only Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, which was dedicated on the AACC Arnold campus in 2006.

      For tickets or information, call breakfast committee chairman Carl Snowden at 443-871-5656.