Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Turner, 5 Students Receiving Honors at Breakfast

Jan. 14, 2010

      Tickets will be available at the door for the 29th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast at Anne Arundel Community College on Monday, Jan. 18, where an eighth community member will receive an award along with five Arundel County Public Schools students.

      Doors open at 7:30 a.m. and the breakfast begins at 8 a.m. in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium on the AACC Arnold campus, 101 College Parkway.

      Joining the other community award recipients is native Annapolitan James R. Turner, who is a retired senior manager with the U.S. Department of Defense. Turner will receive the George H. Phelps Jr. Distinguished Public Service Award from the North County Political Forum for his outstanding achievements and contributions to the citizens of Anne Arundel County.

      Winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Essay Contest sponsored by The Links Inc. Annapolis Chapter are:

  • Middle school: 1st place Jasmine Soriano, 6th grade, with teacher Brenda Osborne, MacArthur Middle School; 2nd place DeAdria Holt, 8th grade, with teachers Elizabeth Braden and William Tegen, Southern Middle School; 3rd place Wilglory Tanjong, 8th grade, with teacher Donna Bartlett, Crofton Middle School.
  • Elementary school – 1st place Malaya Tooles, 5th grade, with teacher Renault McHenry, Mills-Parole Elementary School; 2nd place Shannon Roth, 5th grade, with teacher Emily Marsh, Broadneck Elementary School.

      Tickets cost $35 each or $350 for a table for 10. Event proceeds will help maintain Maryland’s only Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, which was dedicated on the AACC Arnold campus in 2006. For information, call breakfast committee chairman Carl Snowden at 443-871-5656.