Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

AACC Celebrates 48th Commencement

May 28, 2010

      Anne Arundel Community College on May 27 set three new commencement records in graduating 1,672 members of the Class of 2010 and awarding 1,309 degrees and 464 certificates during the 48th annual commencement at Siegert Field on the Arnold campus.

            The class of 2009 saw 1,506 graduates receive 1,218 degrees and 372 certificates.         Delivering the keynote address was Frank Chong, Ed.D., deputy assistant secretary for community colleges in the U.S. Department of Education Office of Vocational and Adult Education. He began overseeing about 1,200 community colleges nationwide in January in his new role, leading President Barack Obama's team working to double the number of community college graduates in the next 10 years.

            Chong's career in higher education has included two college presidencies. He served as president of Laney College in Oakland, Calif. from 2006-09 and as president of Mission College in Santa Clara, Calif., from 2003-06.

        Students honored for academic achievements include an estimated 152 associate degree recipients who earned summa cum laude honors with a grade point average of 3.8-4.0, 148 associate degree recipients who received magna cum laude honors with a GPA of 3.6-3.79 and 163 associate degree recipients who earned cum laude honors with a GPA of 3.4-3.59.

        Valedictorian Alexandra Houston-Ludlam of Lothian is AACC’s first Honors certificate graduate. She also earned a Transfer Studies degree and is bound for the University of Maryland College Park, where she plans to major in psychology.

      She arrived at AACC at age 16, planning to stay only a year, but found her niche in the Honors program. Houston-Ludlum gained accolades as she completed three major Honors projects in two years, focusing on research into play therapy with children and adolescents, research into relationships involving children in foster care and a study of social networking and social development in college students.

      Selected as presidential scholar is Emily Rose Brunk of Crownsville. Leading the graduates as student marshals are Christine Teposo Bergeron of Annapolis, Colleen Elizabeth Connolley of Glen Burnie, Sharon Gayle Gandy of Havre de Grace, Carolyn Elizabeth Jonasson of Glen Burnie, Desislava Stoyanova Lazarova of Annapolis, Miranda Carol Lee of Crownsville, Holly Cheri Miller of Severn, Jessica Jean Nelson of Arnold, Julie Annette Waxham of Annapolis, Danielle Adrianna Webber of Arnold and Joseph Lemuel Wroten of Arnold.

      The valedictorian, presidential scholar and student marshals are selected through interviews with students who earned a 4.0 GPA and took at least 50 credits at AACC. Not every qualified student chose to compete for these honors.

  Page 1  2