Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Five at AACC Honored for Distinguished Service

June 8, 2010

      The Anne Arundel Community College Student Association (SA) has honored three students, a staff member and a faculty member with its 2010 Distinguished Service Award for exceptional contributions and significant changes affecting the college community.

      All AACC students registered in credit and noncredit classes are members of SA, which offers training in leadership and organizational management. Those awarded the association’s highest honor are students Eileen Catte of Severn, Kristen Hart of Arnold and Egypt Kosloski of Brooklyn plus AACC Chemistry Lab Manager Debbie Reeder of Severna Park and Associate Professor of Psychology Rachelle Tannenbaum, Ph.D., of Annapolis.

  • Catte received the 2010 Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award, served in 2008 as secretary and president of the student Entrepreneur’s Club and as president of the student Investment Club of AACC from 2008 to 2010. Her work with the Investment Club included developing a detailed record system for the club’s minutes, activities and simulated investments, organizing a 2009 trip to the New York Stock Exchange and Museum of American Finance and overseeing the 2009 Stock Market Game, an investing competition open to AACC students. The Honors program student and member of the honor society Phi Theta Kappa Omicron Theta chapter led an Honors program rain garden project on campus.
  • Hart was elected as a student representative to the Maryland chapter of the American Society of Interior Designers. She organized several high profile events such as a student career day open to other college students. She won two ASID ChesapeakeHome awards for her designs, worked at the Washington Design Center and took the lead in the new AACC Designer House Calls fundraiser.
  • Kosloski, president of the 2009-2010 Student Association (SA) executive board, was honored for her work on behalf of students. She reports monthly to the AACC Board of Trustees, represents students on the AACC Foundation Inc. board of directors, was instrumental in an SA fundraiser that generated more than $600 for student scholarships and helped coordinate a campus blood drive that increased donations 40 percent. She also participates with the campus literary magazine, Amaranth.
  • Reeder was honored for dedication to the college Chemistry Department and the college as a whole for 25 years. She has served as vice president, representative and president of the Professional and Support Staff Organization, created the preliminary design for the new Physical Sciences lab in the Careers Center and is working with a team to design three new labs at AACC at Arundel Mills as part of the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics initiative.
  • Tannenbaum was recognized for her contributions to the Psychology department and the college community. She has served since 2004 as adjunct coordinator, hiring and supervising one of the largest groups of adjunct instructors on campus. She reviews articles for the journal “Teaching of Psychology” and has also chaired a promotion committee and a textbook selection committee and served on an online oversight committee.

      For information on SA or the awards, call 410-777-2219 or visit