Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Severn School Wins Round Five, Meade High Wins Overall

March 10, 2011

        Severn School captured first place in the fifth and final round of the Anne Arundel County High School Mathematics Competition last weekend at Anne Arundel Community College in a tough annual contest, where competitor Meade High School won the overall 2010-2011 competition.

      During the awards ceremony following the final round, Meade High received a certificate for Most Improved School in the competition.

        The March 5 event on the Arnold campus of Anne Arundel Community College attracted 118 students from 15 public and private county high schools. This annual competition organized and hosted by AACC has five matches; each match is divided into two phases.

        In the first phase, students work individually to answer as many of six questions as possible during the 30-minute time limit. Four students achieved a perfect score in this round: Mary Kate Montgomery of Severn School, Nick Paskal of Severna Park High School, Luke Hart-Moynihan of Annapolis High and Logan Crew of Meade High. Crew turned in perfect scores for all five rounds of the competition.

        Donald Wertz Memorial Book Awards went to the top-scoring individuals for the year: 1st place to Logan Crew; 2nd place to Alex Schulman of Key School; 3rd place to Chris Praley of Severna Park High; 4th place to Luke Hart-Moynihan; 5th place to Daniel Haller of North County High and to Mary Kate Montgomery; and 6th place to Nick Paskal and to Ryan Sharp of Severn School. A certificate for the Most Improved Individual went to Andrew Durkin of Indian Creek School.

        In the second phase of the competition, the students work in teams of up to five members each to answer another set of six questions in 30 minutes. No teams achieved a perfect score in this round.

        School scores are computed by adding the best team score to the average of the top three individuals’ scores. Round five resulted in a tie for second place between Severna Park High and Annapolis High. Fifth round scores were: Severn, 10.33; Annapolis High and Severna Park, tied at 9.67 each; Meade High, 8.33; Key School, 8.0; Broadneck High and South River High, tied at 7.0 each; North County, 6.67; Chesapeake High, 6.0; Arundel High, 4.67; Indian Creek, 4.33; Glen Burnie High, 3.67; Archbishop Spalding, 2.33; Northeast High, 1.33.

        Trophies and certificates were awarded to the three top-scoring schools for the year: first place to Meade High School, 46.0 points; second place to Severna Park High School, 45.67 points; and third place to Severn School, 44.33 points.

        Other final scores: Annapolis High, 39.67; Broadneck High and Key School, tied at 36.0 each; North County High, 33.67; Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School, 29.0; Archbishop Spalding High, 28.67; Arundel High, 27.33; Chesapeake High, 25.67; South River High, 24.66; Glen Burnie High, 20.0; Northeast High, 16.67; Indian Creek, 13.34; Old Mill High, 3.0; Annapolis Area Christian School, 1.67.

      “The sponsors deserve a special thanks for all their support and dedication throughout the year,” said Evie Robbins, AACC associate professor of mathematics and the competition director. “Without you, we wouldn’t have a competition.”