Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

CSP Charter School Wins High School Math Competition

March 16, 2012

      Chesapeake Science Point Charter School took first place in the final round of the Anne Arundel County High School Mathematics Competition at Anne Arundel Community College, capturing first place overall and earning the 2012 champion title.

      Severna Park High School took second place in the final round and Key School came in third place. Overall, the No. 2 and No. 3 spots went to Severn School and Annapolis High School. The March 10 competition saw 116 participants from 15 public and private high schools.

      Each competition is divided into two phases. In the first phase, students work individually to answer as many of six questions as possible during the 30-minute time limit. One student achieved a perfect score: Michael Ross from South River High School.

      In the second phase of the competition, the students work in teams of up to five members each to answer another set of six questions in 30 minutes. The four teams achieving a perfect score on this part of the competition were Broadneck High School, Chesapeake Science Point Charter School, Key School and Severna Park High School.

      A relay round concluded the competition, with teams of four to five students answering five questions. Participants had to pass forward their answer to the next person who would use that answer to solve a problem. The team from Chesapeake Science Point was the only team with the correct answer.

Trophies and certificates were awarded for the three top-scoring schools for the year:

  • 1st place: Chesapeake Science Point (53.00 points)
  • 2nd place: Severn School (45.67 points)
  • 3rd place: Annapolis High School (40.67 points)

The Donald Wertz Memorial Book Awards for the top-scoring individuals for the year:

  • 1st place: Lukash Onyshkevych of Chesapeake Science Point Charter School
  • 2nd place: Willy Griffin of The Key School
  • 3rd place: Will Legarde of Severn School
  • 4th place: Ruslan Onyshkevych of Chesapeake Science Point Charter School
  • 5th place: Jack Andraka of North County High School, Joanna Guth of Annapolis High School, Michael Ross of South River High School and Robert Thompson of Archbishop Spalding High School
  • 6th place: Jeremy Dy of Chesapeake Science Point

The Certificate for the Most Improved Individual went to Jason Clyde of Chesapeake Science Point Charter School and Andrew Harrington of the Key School. The Certificate for the Most Improved School went to Old Mill High School.

      For information on the competition, contact Evie Robbins, AACC associate professor of mathematics and the competition director, at 410-777-2556 or for information.