Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

AACC Honors Top Athletes

May 28, 2013

Anne Arundel Community College honored its top athletes at a recent Hall of Fame and Athletic Awards banquet.

AACC Hall of Fame

Voted into the AACC Hall of Fame was the 2003 Softball Team, which won the 2003 National Championship. Accepting the award were Thelma and Kristin Bishoff, wife and daughter, respectively, of the late head coach Don Bishoff, who led AACC’s team for six years, 2002-2007, before succumbing to cancer in 2008. Bishoff was recognized for his skills as a coach and his dedication to student-athletes in AACC’s softball program. Assistant coaches in 2003 Bill Henderson, Ken Stoll and Bob Bounelis and all except one team member were present for the induction.


Two members of the team were named All-American: Tina Willis, first team and also national tournament most valuable player and Denise Schulteis, named to the second team. Willis also was the record-holder that year for lowest earned run average in Division 3 history (.000 18 innings); had the most strikeouts in a single game (13), which places her in a tie for first place in Division 3 history; and she is 11th overall in season strikeouts (232 in 139 innings). She also had two shutouts in the tournament series, tying her for first in Division 3 history and one no-hitter.

Departmental Awards

Departmental awards were awarded to:

Meghenn Jackson, the Louis L. Siegert Award for the outstanding female student-athlete of the year; named the pre-season lacrosse player of the year in 2013, she ended the season first in the number of points scored (96) and assists made. A graduate of Broadneck High School, she majored in Transfer Studies. She was named All-American, All-Region and All-Conference in soccer and lacrosse and also made the 2012 All MD JUCO Women’s Soccer Team as a sophomore forward.

Jalen Lester, the Dr. David S. Jenkins Award for the outstanding male student-athlete of the year; a guard on AACC’s men’s basketball team, Lester ended the season fourth in the conference and ninth in the nation in scoring with a 21.9 point average and was named to the All-Region first team and the All-Conference honorable mention. A graduate of Arundel High School, he majored in network security and transferred into AACC for his sophomore year.

Brittany Leabhart and Shelby Smith, the Dr. Andrew G. Truxal Award for the outstanding female student-athlete for two years of participation; a midfielder for lacrosse, Leabhart made 10 goals and scored 14 points in the 15 games she played; she also played defense for AACC’s women’s soccer team one year and ran cross country one year; a graduate of Calvary Baptist Church Academy, she majored in Transfer Studies; Smith, a graduate of Glen Burnie High School, majored in Transfer Studies; a pitcher, catcher and infielder on AACC’s softball team, she scored 32 runs on 47 hits and was third in the nation with 10 homeruns – the second highest this year in the MD JUCO Conference; Smith earned All-Region, All Conference and All-Region Tournament for two years.

Sean Johnston, the Andrew G. Truxal Award for the outstanding male student-athlete for two years of participation; a graduate of Mount St. Joseph High School, he played attack on AACC’s men’s lacrosse team, scoring 38 goals and 18 assists in 2012 and 29 goals and 17 assists in 2013; majoring in Business Management, he also exhibited excellent academic performance.

Alexa Couture, the Dean William Evans Award for the female scholar-athlete; Couture was a midfielder on AACC’s women’s soccer team for two years and played defense on the Pioneers lacrosse team for one year; a graduate of Meade High School, she was on the 2011-2012 Maryland JUCO Academic Team with a 4.0 grade-point average and is majoring in Science and Premedical Professions.

James Aorilio, the Dr. John S. Laycock Award for the male scholar-athlete; a forward on the basketball team, Aorilio started in all 30 games in which he played and averaged 11.6 points and 4.3 rebounds per game in his sophomore season; a graduate of Broadneck High School majoring in Transfer Studies, he was recognized for outstanding academic performance in the 2011-2012 academic year with a 3.62 grade-point average.

AACC’s intercollegiate athletic program includes baseball, basketball, golf, lacrosse, soccer, softball, women’s volleyball and women’s track.

For information, contact D. Bruce Springer, intercollegiate athletics coordinator, by email, through the webpage, or call 410-777-2300.