Back to Top
Lester Brooks teaching a history class
Do you ever wonder how people can be so different from one another or how parts of the country and world can be so distinct? The disciplines in this department bring real people, real lives and real issues to life in understandable and relatable ways.

The field of Anthropology looks at people while the field of Sociology looks at societies. The study of History teaches us what we have done and in doing so, helps define who we are. Through Political Science we study, analyze and strive to understand the world of politics. Philosophy requires us to ask deep questions, think logically and reason effectively. In this department, too, you’ll find American Studies, African-American Studies, Geography and Future Studies, all of which provide different perspectives on culture and society. If you’re drawn to understanding people, places, events or considering what the future might look like, you’ll want to explore the many courses and programs that make up this department.


Majors and Offerings

AACC offers courses in all of the areas above. Students interested in pursuing a bachelor’s degree in one of these areas should talk to their advisor about the Loading... degree. 


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Philip Terry-Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
410-777-1321
pbterrysmith@aacc.edu

Full-time Faculty

Frank Alduino, Ph.D.
Professor
History
CRSC 138
410-777-2469
fwalduino@aacc.edu

Lester Brooks, Ph.D.
Professor
History
CRSC 138
410-777-2428
lsbrooks@aacc.edu

Gina Finelli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Sociology
CRSC 158
410-777-2386
gmfinelli@aacc.edu 

Rita Victoria Gomez, Ph.D.
Professor
History
CRSC 117
410-777-2474
rvgomez@aacc.edu

Thomas Karwoski
Associate Professor
Geography
CRSC 144
410-777-2833
tjkarwoski@aacc.edu 

Kathleen Krueger, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Sociology
CRSC 158
410-777-2397
kekrueger@aacc.edu 

Kevin Murphy
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
CRSC 113
410-777-7244
khmurphy@aacc.edu

Daniel Nataf, Ph.D.
Professor
Political Science
CRSC 132
410-777-2733
dthepner@aacc.edu

Takamitsu “Taka” Ono
Assistant Professor
Sociology
CRSC 140
410-777-7130
tono@aacc.edu

David Tengwall, Ph.D.
Professor
History
CRSC 144
410-777-2434
dltengwall@aacc.edu

Carolin Woolson
Professor
Philosophy
CRSC 113
410-777-7033
cwoolson@aacc.edu

Erica Yeager, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Sociology
CRSC 156
410-777-7178
eoyeager@aacc.edu

Office Staff

Mary Greene
Office Manager
CRSC 131
410-777-2649
megreene@aacc.edu 

Sue Yard
Program Assistant
CRSC 131
410-777-2430
syard@aacc.edu 

Resources for Students

Legislative Intern

For nearly 20 years, AACC students have been participating in the Maryland General Assembly’s Legislative Internship Program. Each year during General Assembly session, 100 students are given the opportunity to serve as legislative interns. Upon acceptance into the program, students interview for placement with legislators, committees or caucuses of the Maryland General Assembly.

All enrolled AACC students are eligible to apply. Students should have a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA and proof of competency in college composition. Many of the interns are political science majors; however, students working for degrees in other areas who are interested in learning first-hand about the process of state government are encouraged to apply.

Learn more about the Legislative Intern program.

Center for the Study of Local Issues

The Center for the Study of Local Issues (CSLI) is part of the Sarbanes Center for Public and Community Service. The center’s primary activity is to conduct semiannual public interest surveys. If you enjoy learning about local and state issues such as the economy, education, growth, crime, the environment and more; meeting community leaders; asking questions and listening to other opinions, CSLI provides all of these experiences and more.

Learn more about the Center for the Study of Local Issues.

History Club

You’ll learn why historical topics can be so interesting, as well as how to pursue careers in history-related fields through field trips, film viewings and roundtable discussions.

Learn more about the History Club by visiting the Nest.

Questions?