Future Students

36th Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast

NYT Best-selling author Wes Moore

New York Times best-selling author, television host, social entrepreneur, producer and decorated U.S. Army officer, Wes Moore, will deliver the keynote address at this year's 36th Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast on Monday, Jan. 16, in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium at Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Parkway, Arnold.

The theme of this year’s breakfast is "Making the Dream a Reality." Doors open and food is available at 7:30 a.m., with the program beginning promptly at 8 a.m. As in prior years, participants are asked to bring canned goods to be donated to a local food bank.

Baltimore-born Moore is the author of “The Other Wes Moore” and “The Work,” both of which are New York Times Bestsellers. He has been featured by USA Today, Time Magazine, People Magazine, “Meet the Press,” “The Colbert Report,” MSNBC and NPR, among many other media outlets. Moore is also the host of “Beyond Belief” on the Oprah Winfrey Network, and the executive producer and host of PBS’s “Coming Back with Wes Moore,” which focuses on the re-integration of Iraq and Afghanistan veterans with their return home. In September, he started a new hour-long monthly program called “Future City” on Baltimore’s NPR news station WYPR. Moore is the founder and CEO of BridgeEdU, a national initiative focusing on college completion and career placement by reinventing the freshman year of college.

Honorees for the breakfast are:

  • Dr. MLK Award – Karen Biagiotti
  • Dallas G. Pace Sr. Humanitarian Award – Elizabeth Kinney
  • Alan Hillard Legum Humanitarian Award – Speaker Michael Busch
  • Dr. MLK Zeitgeist Award – Prof. Darian Senn-Carter
  • Leon H. White Clergy Memorial Award – Bishop Eric Wright, Sr.
  • George H. Phelps Jr. Distinguished Public Service Award – Ginina A. Jackson-Stevenson

Tickets for the breakfast at $35 each. They are available on Eventbrite here, or are available by contacting Eugene Peterson at 301-538-0887 or Erica Matthews at 443-761-9734. Make checks payable to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Breakfast Committee and mail to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Breakfast Committee, Attn: Erica Matthews, P.O. Box 6412, Annapolis, MD 21401.

The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Breakfast Committee organizes the annual event.