Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Seven to Receive Awards at MLK Memorial Breakfast

Jan. 11, 2011


        Seven local residents and civic leaders who best emulate the spirit of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. will receive awards Jan. 17 at the 30th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast at Anne Arundel Community College.

      Tickets are still available. Doors open for the event at 7:30 a.m. with breakfast served at 8 a.m. in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium on the AACC Arnold campus, 101 College Parkway. The award recipients are:

  • Carl C. Brooks, receiving the Dallas G. Pace Sr. Humanitarian Award from the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission.
  • Donald R. Lilley, receiving the Coretta Scott King Award from the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County.
  • The Rev. Zina C. Pierre, receiving the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award from the Human Relations Commission, City of Annapolis.
  • Abraham Shanklin Jr., receiving the Leon H. White Clergy Memorial Award from the United Christian Clergy Alliance of Anne Arundel County.
  • Carl O. Snowden, receiving the George H. Phelps Jr. Distinguished Service Award from the Anne Arundel County chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).
  • Kathleen Nieberding Temprine, receiving the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award from the Anne Arundel Coalition of Tenants.
  • Janice D. Watley, director of AACC’s Student Achievement and Success program, receiving the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Zeitgeist Award from the AACC Black Student Union.

      Public historian Julieanna L. Richardson, the founder and executive director of “The HistoryMakers,” will deliver the keynote address. New this year is a 30-year retrospective video with footage from some of the breakfast’s keynote speeches.

      Tickets are $35 each or $350 for a table for 10. For advance tickets or information, call Dianne Williams at 410-222-5354 or Darlene Robinson at 433-481-1961. If still available on Jan. 17, tickets will be sold at the door.