Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

AACC Receives National Innovation of the Year Award

May 18, 2011
Education Recognition

      Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) received a national Innovation of the Year award from the League for Innovation in the Community College for the college’s Student Success 2020 Summit, which engaged the entire college faculty and staff in charting new initiatives to help more students achieve their academic and career goals.

      The League for Innovation annually recognizes top programs and concepts, saying the "innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded."

      AACC’s Student Success 2020 Summit demonstrated innovation in the way that the college used technology so that faculty and staff stationed at all its facilities could participate in a real-time, college-wide discussion. Summit organizers showed creativity in converting that day’s recommendations into action plans to help more students succeed.

      "The summit galvanized the entire college into action," said AACC President Martha A. Smith, Ph.D. "With our continued focus on student success, we are always developing new initiatives to help more students meet their goals."

      Anne Arundel Community College is an award-winning, fully accredited public two-year institution serving approximately 53,000 students each year through classes offered at more than 100 sites in Anne Arundel County or online. Studies can lead to a degree, certificate, industry credential, transfer to a four-year institution or for career enhancement, personal enrichment and lifelong learning. AACC celebrates its 50th Anniversary beginning this fall. For information, visit

      The League for Innovation has members in 11 different countries and territories and partners with more than 160 corporations, nonprofit organizations, foundations and government agencies in a mission to improve community colleges. Less than 10 percent of the League for Innovation’s member colleges received the Innovation of the Year award.