Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Mens' Lacrosse Coach, Team Inducted Into Hall of Fame

June 24, 2011

      Anne Arundel Community College has inducted the 1998 men’s lacrosse team and its coach into its Pioneer Athletic Hall of Fame.

      This is the only men’s lacrosse team AACC fielded that was a National Junior College Athletic Association national champion. Coach Bill Gorrow now coaches at Wesley College. From 1993-2001, Gorrow posted a 106-29 record, leading his team to the NJCAA quarterfinals or better for nine consecutive years. His teams advanced to the semifinals in 1999 and 1995 and to the championship games in 2000, 1998, 1996 and 1994.

      In 1998, the team won the national championship. The NJCAA mens’ lacrosse coaches in 1999 named Gorrow winner of the NJCAA Men’s Lacrosse Coach of the Year Award. He also won honors as Conference Coach of the Year from 1994-1996 and from 1998-2000.

      His 1999 team hosted the national championship on the Arnold campus but fell in overtime to eventual champion Nassau Community College 7-6.

      Gorrow served as acting director of AACC athletics that year, as well. In 1994, as the team’s assistant coach, he won the Dr. Harry C. Rhodes Award for outstanding contributions to AACC athletics.

      The Athletic Awards and Hall of Fame Ceremony took place at the Arnold campus. AACC’s Hall of Fame is in the Jenkins Gymnasium lobby. The first inductees in October 1990 were John S. Laycock Jr., who was the first AACC athletic director and chair of the physical education department, along with two-sport athlete Jeff Herrick. The hall was established to honor outstanding athletic achievements and advance the mission of intercollegiate athletics at AACC.