Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast

December 21, 2012

Honors Community Leaders and Student Winners

Six local residents and civic leaders who best emulate the spirit of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. will receive awards Jan. 21 at the 32nd annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast at Anne Arundel Community College.

Tickets are still available. Doors open for the event at 7:30 a.m. with breakfast served at 8 a.m. in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium on the AACC Arnold campus, 101 College Parkway. The award recipients are:

  • Mohan Grover, owner and manager of Renno’s Market in Shady Side, longtime community volunteer and active human rights advocate, the City of Annapolis Human Relations Commission’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award;
  • Dana Herbert, who has focused much of her time and energy on helping young people develop essential life skills and on educating and motivating young people to continue their education, the Anne Arundel County Human Relations Commission’s Dallas G. Pace Sr. Humanitarian Award;
  • The late Harrell S. Spruill, a businessman and former educator who used his resources to promote civil rights and used the large farm he owned as a classroom for children, the Anne Arundel Coalition of Tenants Inc.’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award;
  • Leon Thomas, a student success and retention adviser and mentor to students at Anne Arundel Community College, the AACC Black Student Union’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Zeitgeist Award;
  • Ralph R. Thomas Sr., who volunteers with a mentoring program for young men, chairs the local National Association for the Advancement of Colored People’s voter registration drive and has devoted much of his life to efforts promoting human rights, justice, equality and the belief that every person has a role in making a difference, the Anne Arundel County chapter of the NAACP’s George H. Phelps Jr. Distinguished Citizen Award;
  • Jesse Eugene Young, pastor of the Silas First Baptist Church of Severna Park who has led his church’s efforts to purchase land to build an outreach and community center and who is working in many aspects of the community to impact it positively, the United Christian Clergy Alliance of Anne Arundel County’s Leon H. White Clergy Memorial Award.

The breakfast also recognizes the students winners in the Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ Visionary Kids Contest designed to reconnect public school children with the real meaning of Dr. King’s life and achievements. This year’s winners are:

Grand Prize Winners ($500 scholarship)  

  • Colin Lime and Nick Moore – 7th grade, Magothy River Middle School; teacher, Todd Wiggins, for their music video, “I Have a Dream;” and, 
  • Ryan Keller – 8th grade, Magothy River Middle School; teacher, Kate deBarros; for his untitled poem.

High School Winners ($50 savings bond) 

  • Hannah Parks, 12th grade, South River High School; teacher, Jennifer Sears; for her artwork, “Night Scene;” and, 
  • Angelika Mascarinas, 9th grade, Meade High School; teacher, Colleen Wells; for her essay/story, “The Generation of the Youth.”

Middle School Winner ($50 savings bond)

  • David Dickey, 7th grade, Magothy River Middle School; teacher, Todd Wiggins; for his artwork, “I Have a Dream.”

Tickets cost $35 each or $350 for a table for 10. They are limited and sold on a first-come basis. People should RSVP by Jan. 11, 2013. Event proceeds will go to defray the cost of putting on the breakfast and providing the funds to honor the student Visionary Kids Contest winners. Attendees are asked to bring a non-perishable food item to donate to local soup kitchens and shelters.

For tickets or information, contact Eugene Peterson at 301-538-0887, Dianne Williams at 410-222-5354 or Darlene Robinson at 410-481-1961.