Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

Second National Accreditation for Public Safety

AACC’s Public Safety Department Earns Second National Accred

Dec. 18, 2012

Anne Arundel Community College’s Department of Public Safety recently became the first college or university non-sworn agency in the country to receive accreditation in the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Inc.’s new Campus Security Accreditation Program. 

Chief Gary Lyle, director of the department, said AACC sought the accreditation as a way to enhance public safety within an educational setting by incorporating standards that complement those used by other public safety agencies. To earn this accreditation, AACC’s department had to develop policies and procedures that addressed 294 standards, which were measured for compliance by a CALEA assessment team. Going through the process also supports continuous organizational development and promotes professionalism as a key value in the department, Lyle added.

This new program is designed for educational campus security or public safety agencies that primarily employ non-sworn security or public safety officers.  The accreditation is in effect for three years. CALEA also accredits law enforcement agencies, public safety communication departments and public safety training academies.

The department also is accredited through the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (IACLEA).