Current Students
Faculty and Staff

Future Students

51st AACC Commencement Facts

7 p.m. Thursday, May 23, 2013, under the tent on the Athletic Practice Fields, Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Parkway.

KEYNOTE - Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown will deliver the keynote address.

• 2083* students will graduate.
• The college will award 1,636 degrees* and 605 certificates*.
• About 520 graduates are expected to participate in the Commencement ceremony.
• In comparison, the class of 2012 had 2,093 graduates awarded 2,245 degrees and certificates, with about 585 students participating.
* The data for spring 2013 is preliminary and will change. Some graduates earn more than one degree or certificate.

• 159 associate degree recipients earned summa cum laude honors with a grade point average of 3.8 to 4.0,
• 158 associate degree recipients received magna cum laude honors with a GPA of 3.6 to 3.79; and
• 228 associate degree recipients earned cum laude honors with a GPA of 3.4 to 3.59.

Michelle DeSanctis, 30, of Bowie, graduating with an Associate of Arts degree in Transfer Studies; heading in the fall to University of Maryland; wants to be a teacher.

William Patrick Moynihan, 25, of Arnold. The Presidential Scholar is the student with the highest grade-point-average who earned his degree within a two-year period.

Amy Michelle Avergas of Millersville
Roni M. Coleman of Pasadena
Yoeldi Irizarry of Odenton
Marcelle Y. Lee, of Severna Park
Hanna Mukhina of Annapolis
Bradley Pfeffer of Glen Burnie
Valeree A. Tolios of Severn
Michelle L. Triplett of Glen Burnie
Peter B, Veres of Odenton

Daniel F. Symancyk, Ph.D., Dean, School of Arts and Sciences

Stephen F. Steele, Ph.D., Professor, Sociology and Futures Studies
Raymond F. Turner, Ph.D., Professor, Economics

Faculty marshals are recipients of the 2013 John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards or selected senior faculty members from their school.
Dawn R. Blanche, Instructional Specialist, CyberCenter
Shad B. Ewart, Assistant Professor, Business Management
Beth Anne O’Reilly, Instructor, Mathematics
Marjorie J. Paoletti, Associate Professor, English
Mary E. Rogers, Instructional Specialist, English Language Learning and Adult Education
Deborah L. Tolliver, Associate Professor, Nursing
Robyn A. Toman, Professor, Mathematics
Lynn J. Tracey, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry
Charles F. Young, Adjunct Faculty, Architecture and Interior Design

• Area motorists not involved in commencement are advised to avoid travel if possible from 5-10 p.m. near the two college entrances on College Parkway and near the college West Campus Drive entrance at Route 2 (Gov. Ritchie Highway).
• Graduates must report to Jenkins Gymnasium by 5:30 p.m.
• Graduates’ guests should arrive on campus by 6 p.m. to allow time to park and be seated. Only those with guest tickets may sit in the tent.
• Audience members who would be more comfortable in an air-conditioned location can watch the ceremony as it is simulcast in the Robert E. Kauffman Theater in the Pascal Center for Performing Arts. Access is through the Student Union.
• Guests with limited mobility are encouraged to arrive early enough to park at the top of the D lot near Ring Road. Shuttle vehicles also will travel through parking lots A, B and C to pick up guests with limited mobility who line up at the blue emergency phone towers in the lots. Overflow guest parking is on the west side of campus in lots E, F, G and H. Campus maps are here.
• The ceremony will air live on the college website, and via AACC TV, which appears on Anne Arundel County cable TV Channel 95 for Comcast and Broadstripe customers and Channel 35 for Verizon customers. The college will rebroadcast commencement on the channel May 24-July 4. Click here for the schedule.
• DVDs of commencement are sold at the AACC Bookstore.