Future Students

Traffic and Parking Regulations


The college reserves the right to remove any vehicle found on campus that is:
Blocking a fire lane or hydrant.

Blocking a road, driveway, loading zone, or trash dumpster.

Parking in a reserved space.

Parking in a driveway.

Using a permit that has been reported lost or stolen.

Illegally parking in a disabled area.

Illegally parked in such a way as to constitute a hazard to vehicular and pedestrian traffic or to the movement or operation of emergency equipment.

Metered Areas

The metered areas that are along Ring Road, in front of the Student Services Center and the Florestano Building are for short-term parking only. The cost is 25 cents for every 15 minutes. Metered parking is enforced 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

The owner will be responsible for the costs involved in removing and storing such a vehicle. The college is not responsible for any damage to a vehicle resulting from towing the vehicle. 

The following regulations are designed to protect the safety of our faculty, staff, students and visitors. Under Maryland’s Vehicle Law, Rules of the Road – Title 21, Section 101.1(2) – states that a person who uses a motor vehicle on community college property must obey the rules of the road as if they were on a highway or roadway in the state of Maryland.

Citations may be issued for violations of:
1. College Parking Regulations
2. Maryland Vehicle Law

The following regulations have been established to protect the safety of faculty, staff, students and visitors, and to control motor traffic and parking on campus so college business may be conducted in a safe and orderly manner. Parking or driving a motor vehicle on campus is a privilege and constitutes acceptance by the owner and/or operator of the responsibility to see that the vehicle is operated and parked properly. Ignorance of these regulations will not be accepted as a defense for violations.


  • Operate and park their vehicles in a safe manner.
  • Properly display valid parking permits on their vehicles. (Faculty/Staff only)
  • Park only in marked spaces, keeping their vehicles within the boundary of the parking space.
  • Notify the Department of Public Safety and Police immediately if their vehicles become disabled and have them removed as soon as possible. An abandoned vehicle will be removed at owner’s expense.
  • Obey all college traffic and parking regulations as contained in the Public Safety and Parking Management Handbook. If you do not, you can lose your right to park on campus.
  • Yield to pedestrians.
Students are not issued parking permits.
Faculty/Staff must properly display current parking permits on the vehicles they park at the college each day. Faculty and staff permits are available in the Public Safety and Police Office. The cost of replacement is $10.
All lost, stolen, or destroyed permits must be reported immediately to Public Safety and Police. If you find a permit you had reported lost or stolen, return it to the Public Safety and Police Office. Such permits are considered revoked; a vehicle may be ticketed and towed if it displays a revoked permit. The College reserves the right to revoke/recall a parking permit at any time.

Cars and trucks:
Faculty/staff permits must be hung and displayed from the rearview mirror, with the number facing forward and clearly visible through the windshield.
Temporary permits must be displayed on the left front corner of the dashboard.

Motorcycles and mopeds:
Affix parking permit to any conspicuous area of the vehicle. 

$15 FINE:
  • Improper display of a valid permit.
  • Parked on the grass.
  • Parked at an expired meter.
  • Parked over the line (marked boundary) of a parking space.
  • Littering.  

$35 FINE:
  • No valid permit displayed.
  • Displaying an expired, lost, stolen or revoked permit.
  • Illegally parked in a space designed for the physically disabled.
  • Illegally parked in a reserved or faculty/staff space.
  • Parked in a loading zone or fire lane.
  • Parked or driving on a walkway.
  • Blocking a fire hydrant.
  • Parked in area designated no parking at any time.
  • Disregarding one-way sign. 
  • Exceeding posted speed limit.
  • Failure to yield to a pedestrian.
  • Driving in an unsafe manner.
  • Failure to stop at a stop sign.
  • Driving or parking against traffic flow.
  • Failure to drive on the traveled portion of the roadway.
  • Crossing a double yellow line to pass.
  • Unattended motor vehicle left in operation.
  • Obstructing traffic.
  • Failure to park in a designated parking space.
  • Parked at a yellow curb.

 $50 FINE:

Any traffic or parking violation may be appealed within 14 calendar days from the date of issuance. If you fail to file an appeal with 14 calendar days, you will forfeit your right to appeal the violation. Appeals must be received in the Public Safety and Police Office before the end of the 14-day limit. 


Anne Arundel Community College citations can be appealed by going to www.aacc.edu/publicsafety within 14 days from the date the citation was issued. Once at the website, click on Traffic Appeals and complete the appeals application. The appeal will be reviewed by the AACCDPSP appeal’s officer. After the citation is evaluated, a final decision of either “Granted” or “Denied” will be electronically submitted to the email address provided on the appeal form.

If an initial appeal is denied and you believe there were extenuating circumstances not taken into consideration, you may file a second and final appeal to the Traffic Appeal Committee. This appeal must be in writing and received in the DPSP office within 14 calendar days from the date of the initial denial email. A copy of the denial email must accompany the second appeal.

If the committee denies your appeal, you have 14 calendar days from the date of the second denial letter to pay the fine or late fees will be added. If not paid, a “Business Office Hold” will be placed on the student or employee account. Final authority rests with this committee.

Address any complaints or questions concerning the appeal process to the vice president for Learning Resources Management, 410-777-2411.

The number of disabled parking spaces on campus is limited. Do not use a disabled parking space unless you have a permit issued in your name. Maryland law requires all persons having a permit to display it on the rear view mirror, and to carry with them the application for the permit.

The law and college policy give a police officer, or any other person authorized by a political subdivision the authority enforces, to enforce this. College Public Safety and Police Officers have the right to ask anyone parked in a disabled space to show the application for the permit. If you cannot produce the application, or the application is in someone else's name, the Public Safety and Officer will advise you to move the car from the disabled space. Any person who violates the provisions of this section of the motor vehicle law is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine.
The Department of Public Safety and Police requests all students and staff who have been issued a disabled parking permit or registration plate from the Motor Vehicle Administration to visit the Public Safety and Police Office to have the permit verified.

Temporary Disabled parking permits can be obtained through Public Safety and Police for students, faculty or staff with physical disabilities who lack a state-issued license plates or hang tags. A physician's written statement will be required.

Fines must be paid within 28 calendar days of the issuance of the violation. A late penalty of $10 will be assessed beginning the 29th day. This late penalty will be assessed every 14 days until the fine has been paid or a maximum fine of $100 has been reached.

All payments must be made at the Cashier’s Office, room 120, Student Services Center. You can reach the cashier's office at 410-777-2236.

All grades, transcripts, and diplomas will be withheld until the fines have been paid.

Campus visitors, who are not familiar with the parking policies and receive a parking ticket, can avoid a fine by completing a Campus Visitor Appeal online, or returning it to the college office they were visiting. The college office will then forward it immediately with an explanation to the Public Safety and Police Office.  

Student parking is permitted during weekday business hours in any space in lots A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J and the "C" Lot Overflow, excluding the following areas:

  • Those areas posted or marked as reserved for the physically disabled, loading zones, visitor and motorcycle parking.
  • Those areas marked by cones or other temporary markings as being reserved.
  • Those areas posted or marked as reserved for faculty/staff or reserved numbered spaces.
After 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, parking is allowed in all reserved (numbered) parking spaces. After 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, parking is allowed in Faculty/Staff parking spaces. Parking is allowed in all reserved parking spaces all day Saturday and Sunday except those designated for the physically disabled or as loading zones.