Back to Top
Students inspecting item in Biology class.

Science is the study of the natural world based on facts learned though experimentation and observation. As a discipline it requires curiosity, creativity, imagination and focus. It uses the tools from many other disciplines to develop, present and share ideas about the world and borrows clues from many other disciplines to identify areas for investigation. While science as a whole is divided into two interrelated sub-disciplines – physical science which focuses on physical phenomena and life science which focuses on life and living systems – collectively the areas of science improve our understanding of the world and how it works.

If living things, even life itself, fascinates you, biology may be the field for you. From plants (botany) to animals (zoology), human anatomy to nutrition this is where our understanding of the living world comes together. Plus, our area provides many environmental challenges that allow faculty and students to apply their knowledge in the field (and marshes and creeks!).  Learn more about how you can join those efforts in the Environmental Center.


Areas and Offerings

Students interested in life sciences may earn an Arts and Sciences Transfer (A.S.) degree in one of several options. Our department also offers credit certificates in the environmental sciences. Learn more about our areas of study:


Faculty and Staff

Academic Chair

Debra Bartlett, Ph.D., professor
410-777-1851
dbartlett@aacc.edu
HLSB 272C

Full-time Faculty

Amy Allen-Chabot, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2844             
amallenchabot@aacc.edu
HLSB 272X

Paul Bushmann, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2270
pjbushmann@aacc.edu
HLSB 272R                

Mickey Dehn, associate professor
410-777-2706
mdehn1@aacc.edu
HLSB 272L

Tammy Domanski, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2274
tldomanski@aacc.edu
HLSB 272Q

Mark Farinha, Ph.D., professor
410-777-1287
mafarinha@aacc.edu
HLSB 272R

Vennece Fowlkes, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2178
vnfowlkes@aacc.edu 
HLSB 272S

Sandra Fox-Moon, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2265
sfoxmoon@aacc.edu
HLSB 272V

Mary Holden-Musser, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2841
meholdenmusser@aacc.edu 
HLSB 272V

Karen Israel, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2278
keisrael@aacc.edu
HLSB 272X

Susan Lamont, Ph.D., professor
410-777-1219
srlamont@aacc.edu
HLSB 272S

Carrie Long, associate professor
410-777-1258
clong9@aacc.edu
HLSB 272W

Seth Miller, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2335
shmiller1@aacc.edu
HLSB 272K

Gregory Schrader, Ph.D., professor
410-777-1216
grschrader@aacc.edu
HLSB 272L

Julie Takacs, Ph.D., associate professor
410-777-2123
jtakacs1@aacc.edu 
HLSB 272W

Benjamin Weibell, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2845
bjweibell@aacc.edu
HLSB 272K

Krista White, Ph.D., associate professor
410-777-1290
kywhite1@aacc.edu
HLSB 272Q

Technical Staff

Michael Norman, laboratory manager
Biology
410-777-2554
cmnorman@aacc.edu
HLSB 219

Kendel Hannon, laboratory coordinator
Biology
410-777-1977
kmhannon@aacc.edu
HLSB 211B

Ashley Danus, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-1268
andanus@aacc.edu 
HLSB 119

Philippe (Phil) Espitallier, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-2997
pjespitallier@aacc.edu
GBTC 304

Jamie Hardy, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-2466
jlhardy1@aacc.edu
HLSB 319

Tara Williamson, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-1254
tawilliamson@aacc.edu
HLSB 311

Instructional Coordinator

Kelli McBride
410-777-2281
kkmcbride@aacc.edu
HLSB 272G

Office Staff

Rachel Ryckman, administrative coordinator
410-777-2643
reryckman@aacc.edu
DRGN 237

Anthony Anderson, program assistant
410-777-2105
akanderson@aacc.edu
HLSB 272

James Seeders, program assistant
410-777-2108
jeseeders@aacc.edu 
DRGN 238


Resources for Students

If you're taking a science course, the following resources are for you. They were developed to help you complete your science course requirements successfully.

Science Computer Lab

Located in Dragun Room 120, (410-777-6370), the Science Computer Lab has about 20 computers equipped with software to support a variety of science courses. Internet access is also available. This lab can be reserved for class use by your instructor.

Help with Course Content

Biology and Environmental Club

The Biology and Environmental Club is a place for those passionate about the life sciences to grow, learn and experience biology together. We do various events related to the sciences such as field trips, guest speakers and on campus projects.

Environmental Center

Led by Director Tammy Domanski, the Environmental Center at AACC supports the college's mission through applied research projects designed and led by faculty to address local environmental necessities. You have the opportunity to participate in these projects through collaborative work that assists in the development of solutions to a variety of contemporary environmental problems.

Maryland has been described as America in miniature because of its great diversity of natural resources. The types of environmental challenges confronting Maryland's people, government, industries and civic organizations are very similar to those confronting several areas of the country.  

Learn more about the Environmental Center.

Field Trips

Field trips are paused for right now, but we hope to get back to our normal pattern as described below soon.

Several of our courses regularly have field trips as part of the curriculum. For example, each fall and spring term, Oceanography, Meteorology, Earth-Space Science and Environmental Science students are given the opportunity to participate in hands-on activities during three-hour educational cruises on a skipjack or a schooner sailing vessel. These cruises are coordinated through the Living Classrooms Foundation and are usually conducted in Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Students participate in several activities onboard the sailing vessels which include: raising and lowering the sails, trawling for fish, taking water quality measurements, deploying a plankton net and investigating oyster anatomy. In addition, students will be exposed to interesting stories and landmarks surrounding Baltimore’s Inner Harbor including historical Fort McHenry.

Kirsten Casey, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean

BIO 101 Supplemental Instruction

Join a Supplemental Instruction study group and improve your confidence, develop a stronger grasp of course material and learn key study strategies from your peers.

Health and Life Sciences Building Virtual Tour