Back to Top
Female student studying with a group.

"Psychology is the study of the mind and behavior. The discipline embraces all aspects of the human experience—from the functions of the brain to the actions of nations, from child development to care for the aged." – as defined by the American Psychological Association

A degree in psychology can be useful in any career as it will help you better understand the behavior of yourself, your co-workers, and your clients or customers. Psychologists work in a variety of fields in both the profit and nonprofit sectors. We offer courses in many areas including Developmental Psychology, Human Sexuality, Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Women, Psychology of Parenthood and more.


Majors and Offerings

The Department of Psychology is proud to offer an Associate of Arts in Psychology


Faculty and Staff

Academic Chair

Lori Perez, Ed.D., professor
410-777-1231
lkperez@aacc.edu 

Full-time Faculty

Julie Grignon, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2415
jlgrignon@aacc.edu 

Jarred Jenkins, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2431
jrjenkins2@aacc.edu

Kellie McCants-Price, Ph.D., associate professor
410-777-2419
kmmccantsprice@aacc.edu

Donald Orso, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2418
dporso@aacc.edu

Matthew Patton, Ph.D., associate professor
410-777-7177
mmpatton1@aacc.edu

Kentina Smith, Ph.D., associate professor
410-777-2818
ksmith56@aacc.edu

Rachelle Tannenbaum, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2060
retannenbaum@aacc.edu

Office Staff

Mary Greene
410-777-2649
megreene@aacc.edu
CRSC-131

Sue Yard
410-777-2430
syard@aacc.edu
CRSC-131

Resources for Students

Psychology Club

The Psychology Club meets regularly during the fall and spring terms. All meetings are free and open to all AACC students. Members of the Psychology Club can connect with other students interested in the field of psychology, have deeper discussions on various topics in psychology, go on field trips, develop leadership and planning skills, and design activities to promote better understanding of human behavior along with involvement in other fun activities. Most importantly, this is a great way to get involved with a service-learning activity and to enhance your résumé/college applications.

For information contact Julie Grignon, assistant professor.

Psi Beta

Psi Beta is the national honor society in psychology for community college students. It provides recognition for outstanding scholarship in psychology coursework. Students who qualify can become members by invitation. Students can participate in activities and events (such as community service, attending lectures, workshops and national conferences) that can enhance their knowledge and appreciation for the field of psychology. The registration fee and participation in the induction ceremony allows them a lifetime membership in the honor society.

For information contact Jarred Jenkins, assistant professor.

Questions?

We’re here to help. 

School of Liberal Arts
Psychology

Philip Terry-Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean

410-777-2369
pbterrysmith@aacc.edu