Back to Top


Get riverhawk ready! Learn more about our plans, services and other resources.

The college is chartered by the state of Maryland and governed by the board of trustees, consisting of seven community members and one student member with full voting rights (see Code Education Article, secs. 16-101 through 16-103).

The college president attends meetings, serves as secretary-treasurer, and is a nonvoting member. The governor appoints community members for four-year terms with the advice and consent of the state senate. The chair is elected by the Board of Trustees.

Sandra E. Moore

Board of Trustees member Sandra Moore

Chair. Vice chair, 2017-2018; 2018-2019; 2019-2020; Appointed in 2015 to complete the term of a member who resigned

Moore is director of the Schools of Medical Imaging at The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. She had been director of the Radiography program at Johns Hopkins and the clinical coordinator of the Radiography program at Anne Arundel Community College. She also is a site visitor for the Joint Review Committee in Radiologic Technology and has worked as a consultant. Moore coordinates continuing education programs for radiologic technologists and frequently makes presentations in the field. She also has been national chair for the American Roentgen Ray Society Advisory Panel for the continuing education of radiologic technologists. 

Moore earned a Bachelor of Science in Education from George Mason University in Fairfax, Va., a radiography certificate from The Johns Hopkins Hospital and also is certified in mammography. She has a Master of Arts in Leadership in Teaching from the Notre Dame of Maryland University. 

James H. Johnson Jr., Ph.D.

Board of trustees member James Johnson

Vice chair. Appointed 2006; reappointed 2012, 2018; chair, 2008-2011; vice chair, 2007-2008

Johnson is a professor emeritus of civil engineering and former dean of Howard University’s College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences. He worked at Howard University for 38 years, where, in addition to being dean, he served as the Samuel P. Massie Professor of Environmental Engineering. Johnson earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Howard University; a Master of Science degree in Sanitary Engineering from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana; a doctorate in applied sciences from University of Delaware and a certificate in college management at Carnegie-Mellon University.

In addition to his academic background, Johnson has served as director of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) National Center for Environmental Research, interim president of Baltimore City Community College, and as a technical consultant on environmental projects. His accomplishments have been recognized by both technical and civic awards.

Jerome W. Klasmeier

Board of Trustees member Jerome Kleismeier

Appointed 2002 and 2008 to complete the terms of members who resigned; reappointed 2012, 2018; vice chair 2004-2006, 2008-2009, 2011-2012, 2016-2017

Klasmeier, former assistant comptroller for Maryland, has had a distinguished career in public service. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Loyola College (now Loyola University Maryland), and served three years as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army.

Klasmeier has spent more than five decades in federal, state and local government service, including 14 years as deputy secretary of the State Department of General Services and three years as chief administrative officer to former Anne Arundel County Executive Janet Owens. He has been a member of the Hospice of the Chesapeake Foundation, the Providence Center Foundation and chairman of advisory board to the adjutant general for the Military Youth Corps.

A. Joyce Price-Jones

Appointed in fall 2021

Bio and photo will be available soon.

JaCina Stanton-Buttrom, Esq.

Appointed in fall 2021

Bio and photo will be available soon.

Lawrence W. Ulvila Jr.

Board of Trustees member Lawrence Ulvila

Appointed to a six-year term beginning July 1, 2016; chair 2017-2020

Ulvila is founder of Insurance Solutions. He chairs the Leadership Committee for Anne Arundel Medical Center (AAMC) McNew Mental Health Campaign and is past chair of the AACC Foundation board, AAMC Foundation board, Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce, AAMC Outreach Council on Mental Illness and Alcohol/Substance Use, and The 21st Century Education Foundation. His more recent awards include Leadership Anne Arundel Distinguished Graduate Award, Maryland Association of Health Underwriters Person of the Year, Anne Arundel County Good Scout Award, Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce Business Leader of the Year, inducted into the Chambers’ Hall of Fame, and the Chamber’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ulvila served as the Maryland Association of Community College (MACC) treasurer in 2019-2020 and is MACC president, 2020-2021.

Retired Brig. Gen. Irene M. Zoppi Rodriguez, Ph.D., U.S. Army Reserves

Image of BOT member, Irene M. Zoppi

Appointed to a four-year term beginning July 1, 2020.

Irene Zoppi Rodriguez is director of Army Reserve Engagement Cell (AREC) and deputy commanding general United States Army South, and the former deputy commanding general support under the 200th Military Police Command at Fort George G. Meade. She holds a doctorate in education policy from the University of Maryland, a Master of Strategic Studies from the U.S. Army War College, and a Master of Business Administration and a Master of Science in Business Marketing from Johns Hopkins University. 

Her military awards and decorations include the Bronze Star Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal with three oak leaf clusters, the Army Commendation Medal with six oak leaf clusters, the Southwest Asia Service Medal with three bronze stars, the Kuwait Liberation Medal (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia), the Kuwait Liberation Medal (government of Kuwait) and the U.S. Army Parachutist Badge. She also received the Knowlton Award for Excellence in Military Intelligence in 2013.

Zoppi Rodriguez is an adjunct professor at the U.S. Army War College and Strayer University, and former adjunct professor of various higher education institutions.

Lt. Jordan J. Foley, U.S. Navy, J.D.

Student board member. Appointed in fall 2021

Bio and photo will be available soon.

Trustees Emeriti

  • Robert J. DiAiso, 1998
  • Arthur D. Ebersberger, 2017
  • Gene E. Floyd, 2009
  • T. Sue Gladhill, 2008
  • Irene E. Newhouse, 1991
  • Donald C. Roane, M.D., 2006


Our president is here to help.

Dr. Dawn Lindsay

Send Email

Badge indicating AACC Board a 2019-2020 John W. Nason award recipient


Public Sessions

2020-2021 Schedule

Tuesday, Sept. 8, 2020
Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2020
Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020
Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2020
Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2021 (canceled)
Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2021
Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Tuesday, April 13, 2021
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021

2021 Agendas

2021 Minutes

Past public sessions

Student Member Selection

The college seeks applications each spring for the student member of the board of trustees. Applicants are interviewed by a committee of students and staff. The committee recommends the candidate to the AACC president, who sends the candidate's name to the governor's office for appointment.