Back to Top

Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics, and Physical Science

students in science lab

Science is the study of the natural world based on facts learned though experimentation and observation. As a discipline it requires curiosity, creativity, imagination and focus. It uses the tools from many other disciplines to develop, present and share ideas about the world and borrows clues from many other disciplines to identify areas for investigation. While science as a whole is divided into two interrelated sub-disciplines – physical science which focuses on physical phenomena and life science which focuses on life and living systems – collectively the areas of science improve our understanding of the world and how it works. If the physical world, whether at a micro-level or beyond this planet, fascinates you, one of the many sciences that make up physical science may be right for you.


Majors

Students interested in the physical sciences may earn an Arts and Sciences Transfer (A.S.) degree in one of several majors.

Learn more about physical science majors.


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Jason Barbour, Ph.D., professor
Physical Science
410-777-1217            
jpbarbour@aacc.edu
DRGN 240

Full-time Faculty

Jason Barbour, Ph.D., professor
Physical Science
410-777-1217            
jpbarbour@aacc.edu
DRGN 244

Robert Carp, associate professor
Chemistry
410-777-2264
rtcarp@aacc.edu
DRGN 231

Dan Ferandez, professor
Physical Science
410-777-2031
dvferandez@aacc.edu
DRGN 243               

Eric Fons, associate professor
Physics
410-777-2154
ewfons@aacc.edu
DRGN 234

Katherine Keough, instructor
Physical Science
410-777-2828
kmkeough@aacc.edu
DRGN 242

Deborah Levine, Ph.D., assistant professor
Astronomy
410-777-1280
dalevine@aacc.edu
DRGN 241

Anthony Santorelli, Ph.D., associate professor
Physical Science
410-777-1484
asantorelli@aacc.edu
DRGN 242

Shyamala Sivalingam, Ph.D., assistant professor
Chemistry
410-777-2157
ssivalingam@aacc.edu
DRGN 241

Maureen Sherer, professor
Chemistry
410-777-2261
masherer@aacc.edu
DRGN 231

Lynn Tracey, Ph.D., professor
Chemistry
410-777-2846
ljtracey@aacc.edu
DRGN 232

 

Technical Staff

Philippe (Phil) Espitallier, chemistry technical specialist
410-777-2997
pjespitallier@aacc.edu
GBTC 304

Kendel Hannon, laboratory coordinator
410-777-1977
kmhannon@aacc.edu
AMIL 404A, mail stop AMIL 100

Meranda Byers, physics laboratory manager
410-777-2881
mfbyers@aacc.edu
DRGN 201

Elizabeth Ward, chemistry lab manager
410-777-2224
emward@aacc.edu
DRGN 211

Instructional Coordinator

Kelli McBride
410-777-2281
kkmcbride@aacc.edu 
DRGN 245

Office Staff

Anthony Anderson, program assistant
410-777-2260
akanderson@aacc.edu
DRGN 238

James Seeders, evening program assistant
410-777-2260
jeseeders@aacc.edu
DRGN 238

Debra Tribble, office manager
410-777-2643
dbtribble@aacc.edu
DRGN 237


Resources for Students

If you're taking a science course, these resources are for you! They were developed to help you complete your science course requirements successfully.

Help with Course Content

Super Science Club - Three Student Clubs in One!

AACC's Super Science Club provides an opportunity for students and members of the community who are interested in Earth Science, Chemistry and Astronomy to share their enthusiasm about the subjects!

Events are centered around increasing student awareness of the AACC Earth Science, Chemistry and Astronomy programs. Club members expose students to careers in these disciplines through lectures by guest speakers and local field trips. They promote these sciences to the public through student-run events and participation in local events. Examples include Planet Walk, held in conjunction with the Friends of Anne Arundel County Trails, "star parties" using the telescopes at the AACC observatory on a regular schedule that are open to the public and club members, other outreach STEM events offered by AACC including Science Night and Science Day, and those offered outside the college including the Bowie BaySox STEM days and AACPS Science Fair judging.

Learn about the Super Science Club in The Nest.

Field Trips

Field trips are paused for right now, but we hope to get back to our normal pattern as described below soon.

Several of our courses regularly include field trips as part of the curriculum. For example, each fall and spring term, oceanography, meteorology, Earth-space science and environmental science students are given the opportunity to participate in hands-on activities during three-hour educational cruises on a skipjack or a schooner sailing vessel. These cruises are coordinated through the Living Classrooms Foundation and usually are conducted in Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Students participate in several activities on board the sailing vessels which include: raising and lowering the sails, trawling for fish, taking water quality measurements, deploying a plankton net, and investigating oyster anatomy. In addition, students are exposed to interesting stories and landmarks surrounding Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, including Fort McHenry.

STEM Core

Bogged down with your math requirements? STEM Core at AACC is a program designed to grow the number of students interested in STEM-related careers while accelerating through your math requirements.

Learn more about the STEM Core program.