Back to Top
Nursing students in lab instruction.

AACC’s nursing department enjoys an outstanding reputation. The nursing department’s vision is to enhance the health and well-being of the Anne Arundel County community by advancing the profession of nursing through education, scholarship and service.  As a community, the nursing faculty and students strive to promote excellence in the nursing profession.

The AACC nursing faculty consists of full- and part-time, caring and student-focused members. Our students practice simulated nursing skills in a college lab with state-of-the-art equipment and have continually exceeded national and state pass-rate averages.


Majors and Offerings

AACC offers nursing degrees and certificates for those pursuing a practical or registered nursing license.  

Learn more about our majors in Nursing and Practical Nursing.


Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Kristine Holden, director of Nursing
410-777-7221
kholden2@aacc.edu
HLSB 268B

Department Chair

Denise Lyons, associate professor
410-777-7237
dmlyons@aacc.edu
HLSB 268C

Full-time Faculty

Ellen Asbury, associate professor
410-777-7384
emasbury@aacc.edu
HLSB 260B

Marilyn Berchie, assistant professor
410-777-7282
mberchie@aacc.edu
HLSB 260A

Lyndele Bernard, professor
410-777-7083
lbbernard@aacc.edu
HLSB 268F 

Lisa Chamberlain, assistant professor
410-777-7090
lmchamberlain@aacc.edu
HLSB 268D

Myra Dennis, professor
410-777-7250
mgdennis@aacc.edu
HLSB 268E

Alice "Carrie" Jackson, associate professor
410-777-7235
ajackson30@aacc.edu
HLSB 268F

Christina Junker, assistant professor
410-777-7022
cjunker@aacc.edu
HLSB 264B

Melissa King, assistant professor
410-777-7262
making9@aacc.edu
HLSB 264A

Maureen Kinsella, professor
410-777-7238
mmkinsella@aacc.edu
HLSB 260B 

Denise Lyons, associate professor
410-777-7237
dmlyons@aacc.edu
HLSB 268C

Tanesha Meade, assistant professor
410-777-7074
tmeade@aacc.edu
HLSB 264F

Amy Nudell, assistant professor
410-777-1477
anudell@aacc.edu
HLSB 264E

Jennifer Phipps, assistant professor
410-777-7060
jbphipps@aacc.edu 
HLSB 264G

Heidi Rayner, associate professor
410-777-2423
hlrayner@aacc.edu
HLSB 172B

Mandy Scholz, assistant professor
310-777-7226
mlscholz@aacc.edu
HLSB 264D

Tracy Short, assistant professor
410-777-2177
tashort@aacc.edu
HLSB 268D

Alice Stephens, professor
410-777-7333
apstephens@aacc.edu
HLSB 264C 

Rebecca Tolley, associate professor
410-777-7108
rjtolley@aacc.edu
HLSB 260C 

Mary Venters, assistant professor
410-777-7042
mlventers@aacc.edu
HLSB 264E

Kristin Weedn, assistant professor
410-777-7233
klweedn@aacc.edu
HLSB 264D

Ellyn Woodzelle, assistant professor
410-777-7092
epwoodzelle@aacc.edu
HLSB 264G 

Margaret Wyatt, associate professor
410-777-7076
mlwyatt@aacc.edu
HLSB 268E


Resources for Students

Nurse Mentor and Retention Specialist

Once you have taken that important step toward meeting your goal of success in the nursing program, the nurse mentor and retention specialist can support you with:

  • Creative study strategies
  • Test-taking skill development
  • Course-specific test prep session
  • Success skill workshops
  • Traditional (face-to-face) and online tutoring

Associate Professor Heidi Rayner helps AACC nursing students meet their academic and emotional needs. AACC nursing students have access to the services Rayner provides, which include success skills workshops, group study and individual or group tutoring.

We encourage all nursing students to make use of this service, designed with you in mind, to enhance your nursing knowledge and strengthen your test-taking abilities, all while maintaining a positive outlook. The success of each AACC nursing student is our goal.

For information contact Heidi Rayner, nurse mentor and retention specialist, at nursingretention@aacc.edu or 410-777-2423.