Back to Top
Health care students at the bedside of a patient.

AACC’s nursing department enjoys an outstanding reputation. The nursing department’s vision is to enhance the health and well-being of the Anne Arundel County community by advancing the profession of nursing through education, scholarship and service.  As a community, the nursing faculty and students strive to promote excellence in the nursing profession.

The AACC nursing faculty consists of full- and part-time, caring and student-focused members. Our students practice simulated nursing skills in a college lab with state-of-the-art equipment and have continually exceeded national and state pass-rate averages.


Majors and Offerings

AACC offers nursing degrees and certificates for those pursuing a practical or registered nursing license.  

Learn more about our majors in Nursing and Practical Nursing.


Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Scott Olden, assistant dean
410-777-7352
smolden@aacc.edu 
FLRS 304A

Full-time Faculty

Ellen Asbury, associate professor
410-777-7384
emasbury@aacc.edu 
ANXA-106

Lyndele Bernard, professor
410-777-7083
lbbernard@aacc.edu
FLRS-330 

Lisa Chamberlain, assistant professor
410-777-7090
lmchamberlain@aacc.edu
FLRS-326

Lauren Decker, nurse navigator
410-777-7022
pldecker@aacc.edu
FLRS-326

Myra Dennis, associate professor
410-777-7250
mgdennis@aacc.edu
FLRS-332

Susan Fox, professor
410-777-7091
smfox1@aacc.edu
FLRS-304B

Alice (Carrie) Jackson, associate professor
410-777-7235
ajackson30@aacc.edu 
FLRS-124

Maureen Kinsella, professor
410-777-7238
mmkinsella@aacc.edu
ANXA-106 

Denise Lyons, associate professor
410-777-7237
dmlyons@aacc.edu
FLRS-330

Tanesha Meade, assistant professor
410-777-7074
tmeade@aacc.edu

Amy Nudell, assistant professor
410-777-1477
anudell@aacc.edu
ANXA-105

Heidi Rayner, associate professor
410-777-2423
hlrayner@aacc.edu
FLRS-424 

Tracy Short, assistant professor
410-777-2177
tashort@aacc.edu
ANXA-106

Alice Stephens, professor
410-777-7333
apstephens@aacc.edu
FLRS-436 

Rebecca Tolley, associate professor
410-777-7108
rjtolley@aacc.edu
ANXA-105 

Deborah (Debbie) Tolliver, professor
410-777-7374
dltolliver@aacc.edu
FLRS-326 

Mary Venters, assistant professor
410-777-7042
mlventers@aacc.edu
FLRS-328

Kristin Weedn, assistant professor
410-777-7233
klweedn@aacc.edu
FLRS-124B

Shawn Wilson, associate professor
410-777-7060
smwilson@aacc.edu
FLRS-124 

Ellyn Woodzelle, assistant professor
410-777-7092
epwalton@aacc.edu
FLRS-124C 

Margaret Wyatt, associate professor
410-777-7076
mlwyatt@aacc.edu
FLRS-436


Resources for Students

Nurse Mentor and Retention Specialist

Once you have taken that important step toward meeting your goal of success in the nursing program, the nurse mentor and retention specialist can support you with:

  • Creative study strategies
  • Test-taking skill development
  • Course-specific test prep session
  • Success skill workshops
  • Traditional (face-to-face) and online tutoring

This program helps meet the academic and emotional needs of AACC nursing students. The success of the AACC NMRS program is based on two measures: accessibility and content. AACC nursing students have access to the services of the NMRS, which include Success Skills workshops, group study and individual or group tutoring. Email the NMRS to schedule a meeting or learn more.

We encourage all nursing students to make use of this program, designed with you in mind, to enhance your nursing knowledge and strengthen your test-taking abilities, all while maintaining a positive outlook. The success of each AACC nursing student is what this program is all about.