Back to Top
Group of students from different backgrounds.

"Read, read, read." – William Faulkner, author

Reading is an essential part of the higher education experience. Most courses require a significant amount of reading, so you will want to be fully prepared. The Academic Literacies department offers reading courses to prepare you for credit coursework. Our courses are offered at various times and locations to meet your needs. We look forward to working with you!


Offerings

Academic Literacies (ACL-040)

5 equated credit hours.

Explore and critically evaluate a variety of academic texts. Identify, discuss and write about abstract ideas from a variety of complex academic texts. Expand and connect readings to other meaningful texts, to the world and to the lived experiences of the students. Develop an understanding of the writing process in order to produce authentic academic writing, thus preparing students for success in college-level reading and writing.

Faculty and Staff

Academic Chair

Antione D. Tomlin, Ph.D., assistant professor and chair
LIBR 119
410-777-2587
adtomlin@aacc.edu 

Full-time Faculty

Forrest Caskey, associate professor
LIBR 113
410-777-2158
dcaskey@aacc.edu

Kerry Taylor, Ed.D., associate professor and interim assistant dean
HUM 113B
410-777-2032
ketaylor@aacc.edu 

Antione D. Tomlin, Ph.D., assistant professor and chair
LIBR 119
410-777-2587
adtomlin@aacc.edu 

Adjunct Faculty

Markton Cole
mdcole1@aacc.edu 

Marci Dawson-Moser
mmdawsonmoser@aacc.edu 

Erica Heflin, Ed.D.
epheflin@aacc.edu   

Sarah Holliday
slholliday@aacc.edu 

Traci Williams
tdwilliams26@aacc.edu  

Academic Literacies Lab Tutors

Elizabeth daRosa
ejdarosa1@aacc.edu 

Chelsea Harrison
ckharrison@aacc.edu

Donna Packer-Kinlaw, Ph.D.
dpackerkinlaw@aacc.edu 

Cindy Pimpo
cpimpo@aacc.edu 

Kathryn Reilly
kmreilly1@aacc.edu 

Chris Riley
criley1@aacc.edu 

Resources for Students

Academic Literacies Lab

The Academic Literacies Lab, located in Andrew G. Truxal Library Room 108, is designed to promote academic growth and excellence. We want to make sure that you are approaching college-level learning with confidence. Visiting the lab can help you strengthen academic skills, develop general learning and study strategies, and improve academic success. Our tutors are committed to meeting you where you are, and helping you accomplish your educational goals.

Get customized tutoring in these academic fields:

  • Art
  • Business
  • English
  • History
  • Physical sciences
  • Psychology
  • Reading
  • Sociology

Tutors can help you with:

  • Strengthening reading habits
  • Improving reading comprehension
  • Note taking, organizational and study skills
  • Brainstorming assignments
  • Writing assignments
  • Research
  • Test preparation
  • College application essays

About our tutors:

  • They have advanced degrees and teaching experience.
  • Some are experienced with ESL students, military/veterans and students with accommodations.
  • They have experience with both credit and noncredit students.

Did you know that the Academic Literacies Lab is available online? Schedule your virtual tutoring session!

Academic Literacies Lab Online Instructions

Follow the instructions below on how to enroll in the online Academic Literacies Lab and request a virtual tutoring session.

  1. On the left-hand navigation bar in any course, find the Enroll in Online Academic Literacies Lab and click on that tab
  2. Click on Go To Course.
  3. Either scroll through this page and look at the tutoring schedule OR click on Zoom in the left-hand navigation bar.
  4. The first meeting link you see will take you to a live tutor. Please click on Join and a tutor will let you into their Zoom room.

Questions?

Contact Associate Professor Forrest Caskey at dcaskey@aacc.edu if you have questions regarding the Academic Literacies Lab.

Online Tutoring

For 24-hour, online assistance, check out Smarthinking, the leader in live, on-demand, online tutoring that is available to AACC students.

Learn more about online tutoring.

Questions?

We’re here to help.

School of Liberal Arts
Academic Literacies

Antione D. Tomlin, Ph.D.

410-777-2587

Send Email

Kerry Taylor, Ed.D.
Interim Assistant Dean

More Tutoring

The Academic Literacies Lab isn’t the only tutoring available at AACC. Visit the Tutoring page to learn more.