Back to Top
Faculty gesturing in front of class

“Words, words, words.” - Hamlet, William Shakespeare.

If you love words – reading them, writing them, speaking them and interpreting them – you will find kindred spirits here. The English department at AACC is home to composition, literature and creative writing. The aim of the English department is to prepare you to be a more effective reader, writer and thinker and to help you develop your abilities to understand and appreciate literature and other cultures.

Whether you struggle or excel in English, we meet you where you are. At every level we work to improve your mastery of English grammar, punctuation and sentence structure, as well as your capacity to organize and express ideas in writing. In our English classes, you will develop critical thinking and analysis skills. Along the way, we can help you explore literature of the Americas and the world's many cultures, great writing informs both new and old, and classic literary themes in their cultural contexts. In our Creative Writing courses, explore your boundless imagination, sharpen your critical thinking and hone your writing skills for our student publications and beyond.

Study with faculty in the English department and work toward earning a credential in English or Creative Writing.


Majors

The English and Communications department offers degrees in the following areas of study:


Faculty and Staff

Academic Chair

Dave Meng
410-777-2892
dpmeng@aacc.edu 

Full-time Faculty

Margaret Boas
Associate Professor, English
maboas@aacc.edu
410-777-2735
HUM 113H

Dean Bowers, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
edbowers@aacc.edu
410-777-1407
HUM 203G

Garrett Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
gbrown24@aacc.edu
410-777-2809
HUM 113F

Alan Brownlie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
awbrownlie@aacc.edu
410-777-2327
HUM 113D

Steven Canaday, Ph.D.
Professor, English
sbcanaday@aacc.edu
410-777-2140
HUM 203B

Susan Cohen, Ph.D.
Professor, English
sacohen3@aacc.edu
410-777-2545
HUM 113C

Katy D’Angelo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English
kdangelo@aacc.edu
410-777-1218
HUM 203C

Jennifer Dix, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
jdix@aacc.edu
410-777-2459
HUM 113F

James Finnegan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
jfinnegan@aacc.edu
410-777-1970
HUM 113B

Paul Gabriel Tucci
Associate Professor, English
pdtucci@aacc.edu
410-777-2806
HUM 113J

Daryl Gonder, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English and Visual Arts
dwgonder@aacc.edu
410-777-2551
HUM 113E

Candice Hill, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English
cjhill1@aacc.edu
410-777-1409
HUM 203C

Robert Hurd, Ph.D.
Professor, English
rrhurd@aacc.edu
410-777-2119
HUM 215K

Wayne Kobylinski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
wkobylinski@aacc.edu
410-777-2299
HUM 203A

Johnny Lew, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English
jlew@aacc.edu
410-777-1410
HUM 203G

Jaque Lyman-Thomas
Professor, English
jslyman@aacc.edu
410-777-2802
HUM 113G

Mark Matthews
Associate Professor, English
mrmatthews@aacc.edu
410-777-2285
HUM 215F

Timothy May
Instructor, English
tmay@aacc.edu
410-777-2298
HUM 203D

David Meng
Associate Professor, English
dpmeng@aacc.edu
410-777-2892
HUM 113I

Marjorie Paoletti
Associate Professor, English
mpaoletti@aacc.edu
410-777-2185
HUM 203H

Jessica Rabin, Ph.D.
Professor, English
jgrabin@aacc.edu
410-777-2118
HUM 215G

Brian Riley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
bpriley@aacc.edu
410-777-2957
HUM 203I

Verna Robinson, D.A.
Professor, English
vbrobinson@aacc.edu
410-777-2287
HUM 215E

Grace Sikorski, Ph.D.
Professor, English
gsikorski@aacc.edu
410-777-2186
HUM 203J

Suzanne Spoor, Ph.D.
Professor, English
sjspoor@aacc.edu
410-777-2448
HUM 203F

Brian Weber
Instructor, English
bmweber@aacc.edu
410-777-1242
HUM 203D

Office Staff

Julie Schuman
410-777-2280
jmschuman@aacc.edu

Kristi Tuccillo
410-777-2290
kltuccillo@aacc.edu


Resources for Students

Writing Center

The Writing Center provides continuous help to students from all disciplines by providing one-on-one tutoring on a walk-in basis. English department faculty tutors are happy to assist in preparing written assignments, offer help in understanding errors on graded papers, and provide additional training in grammar, punctuation and usage.

Learn more about the Writing Center.

Virtual Writing Center

The Virtual Writing Center offers the same high quality tutoring experience as our face-to-face Writing Center locations in a synchronous, voice-interactive online environment.  It is open to all enrolled AACC students and can be accessed using Canvas and Blackboard Collaborate.

Learn more about the Virtual Writing Center.

Honors program

The Honors program is for high-achieving students who wish to excel in a diverse and interdisciplinary learning environment. The focus is on collaboration in learning, critical thinking, effective communication and ethical leadership. The Honors program maintains academic rigor while allowing flexibility for qualified students in all majors to receive recognition for their achievements. Courses are defined by a different method of teaching and learning.

Learn more about the Honors program.

Amaranth, the student literary journal

Amaranth is AACC’s Journal for the Creative Arts. It is an award-winning, student-run and edited journal that is published once a year through funding from the AACC Student Organization and generous donations from Tim and Darlene Barnum and Burt Dall.

The Amaranth Coffeehouse is a monthly event where students gather to share writing, music, short films, monologues, comedy sketches and visual art.  It is an excellent opportunity for students to interact outside of the classroom, become acquainted with the work of their peers, and participate in AACC’s creative and cultural community.  This is an open mic where all students, faculty, staff and community members are welcome.  Each year, the Coffeehouse culminates with a release party for Amaranth.

Learn about Amaranth and its submission guidelines.

Writers Reading Series

Writers Reading at AACC is a reading series that hosts an array of writers including poets, fiction writers, essayists, songwriters, memoirists, playwrights, journalists and screenplay writers.

All events, are held on the Arnold campus in Humanities Building Room 112 from 2-3:15 p.m. Writers Reading encourages students, faculty, staff and community to attend. The readings are sponsored by the AACC Student Government Association, are free and open to the public and include book sales and signings.

For information contact Professor Susan Cohen at sacohen3@aacc.edu

Questions?

Danny Hoey, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean