Back to Top
math student with graded test

Math provides the foundation of many of the top careers in business, finance, engineering, science and more. If you enjoy deciphering equations and putting your problem-solving skills to the test, mathematics may be a good starting point. Because math is essential to many fields of study, it is also a general education requirement that all degree-seeking students must complete.

Whether you struggle or are a whiz in math, we meet you where you are, including if you placed into a developmental math class. For information on how you can improve your skills, especially if it’s been awhile since you took a math class, check out the Resources for Students available on this page. Here you’ll find support in math labs, tutoring, overcoming math anxiety workshops and our Math FIRS3T redesign program, which provides both self-paced and guided developmental math materials to speed up your studies and increase your proficiency.


Majors

Prepare for transfer to a four-year institution majoring in mathematics or other subjects requiring a strong math background. Develop analytic skills, computer- based problem solving ability and the use of mathematical reasoning to further the scientific method.  

Learn more about majoring in Mathematics.


Faculty and Staff

Academic Chair

TBA

Full-time Faculty

Jennifer Birdsell
410-777-2562
jzeigenfuse1@aacc.edu 

Abigail M. Brackins, Ph.D.
410-777-2559
ambrackins@aacc.edu 

Frederick D. Chapple Jr.
410-777-2556
fdchapple@aacc.edu

Nancy L. Chell
410-777-2360
nlchell@aacc.edu

Arthur E Cimiluca Jr.
410-777-2583
aecimiluca@aacc.edu

Sybille R. Clayton
410-777-2565
sclayton1@aacc.edu

Marci H. Collins-Stewart
410-777-2590
mhcollins@aacc.edu

Angela V Desai, Ph.D.
410-777-1286
avdesai@aacc.edu

Jeffrey Feuer, Ph.D.
410-777-2586
jfeuer@aacc.edu 

Susan Ficken, Ph.D.
410-777-2563
sficken@aacc.edu

Catherine A. Hess
410-777-2574
cahess@aacc.edu

Jagmohan J. Kapoor, Ph.D.
410-777-2564 
jjkapoor@aacc.edu

Mary O. Kassebaum, Ph.D.
410-777-2485  
mokassebaum@aacc.edu

Monica Leid
410-777-2584
mmleid@aacc.edu

Thao-Nhi Luu
410-777-2557
tluu@aacc.edu 

James P. Messenger    
410-777-1804    
jpmessenger@aacc.edu

Okemwa Monandi
410-777-2193
oomonandi1@aacc.edu 

Robert C. Newton
410-777-2561
rcnewton@aacc.edu

Stacey O. Nicholls, Ph.D.
410-777-2569    
sonicholls@aacc.edu 

Jessica O'Leary
410-777-1264
joleary1@aacc.edu

Beth A. O'Reilly
410-777-1867    
boreilly@aacc.edu

Heather M. Riordan
410-777-2184
hmriordan@aacc.edu

Amber H. Rust, Ph.D.  
410-777-2586
arust1@aacc.edu

Amylee Salamon
410-777-2194
amsalamon@aacc.edu 

Tracy M. Sorrells
410-777-2558
tmsorrells@aacc.edu

Melissa B. Spurlock
410-777-2506    
mbspurlock@aacc.edu

Robyn A. Toman
410-777-2588    
ratoman@aacc.edu

Michael F. Wright
410-777-2558    
mfwright@aacc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Arnel Anog
aanog@aacc.edu 

Paul Arnold
pearnold@aacc.edu 

Rainnier Baking
rdbaking@aacc.edu 

Steve Bast
srbast@aacc.edu

Patrick Beben
plbeben@aacc.edu 

Darrin Berkley
dkberkley1@aacc.edu

Lori Berry
lrberry@aacc.edu 

Deb Boehm
djboehm@aacc.edu

Ronald Burthe
rjburthe@aacc.edu 

David Caruthers
dwcaruthers@aacc.edu 

Lynne Clark
lclark4@aacc.edu 

John Cramer
jcramer1@aacc.edu

Ryan Fescina
rmfescina@aacc.edu 

John Foulkes
jbfoulkes@aacc.edu 

Ruth Goldstraw
rfgoldstraw@aacc.edu

Michael Gray
magray4@aacc.edu 

Kimberly Guinn
kguinn@aacc.edu

James Hall
jhall12@aacc.edu

Rochelle Harley
rbharley@aacc.edu 

Ron Herzfeld
rherzfeld@aacc.edu

Lisa Jackson
ljackson24@aacc.edu

Sharon Jollie
skjollie@aacc.edu

Bonnie Kegan
bkegan@aacc.edu

Patricia Martinez
pewalker@aacc.edu 

Kevin McCoy
kjmccoy@aacc.edu

Nancie Moebius
namoebius@aacc.edu

Tim Myers
timyers@aacc.edu

Elizabeth Parks
etpark@aacc.edu 

Barbara Priestman
bapriestman@aacc.edu

Marjorie Rawhouser
marawhouser@aacc.edu 

Michael Risha
mprisha@aacc.edu

Lindsay Roark
lrroark@aacc.edu 

Alysia Robertson
asrobertson@aacc.edu

Jose Ruiz
jruiz1@aacc.edu 

Shanda Sampson
sasampson@aacc.edu 

Donna Schafer
dsschafer@aacc.edu

Isaiah Showell
ishowell@aacc.edu

Suzanne Stringer
srstringer@aacc.edu

Dan Symancyk
dfsymancyk@aacc.edu 

Deborah Webb
dpwebb@aacc.edu

Office Staff

Christina Fernandez DeCastro
Office Manager
cdecastro1@aacc.edu

Lauren Smith
Program Assistant
lrsmith3@aacc.edu

Resources for Students

Developmental Math

If you placed into a developmental math course, you should begin developmental math requirements in your first term and continue in your required sequence until your college level math is complete.

Please note that you have the option to retake the Math Accuplacer test if you first complete a structured review. However, once you have taken a developmental math class, you cannot retake the Accuplacer test. You will need to complete the developmental requirements before progressing to college credit math classes. Accuplacer retesting information can be found at an AACC Testing Center.

Talk to an advisor about your options, including accelerated options, which are recommended strongly for eligible students. You may want to consider AACC’s Math FIRST program as well.

Learn more about developmental math pathways.

Math Tutoring

Get additional help from math tutors on the Arnold campus and at AACC at Arundel Mills.

Learn more about tutoring resources.

Math FIRST in Developmental Math

An alternative approach for developmental math students, AACC’s Math FIRST program is available for three developmental math courses: MAT-034 Quantitative Foundations, MAT-036 Foundations of College Algebra, and MAT-037 Introduction to College Algebra.

How you benefit as a student in The Math FIRST redesign program:

  • Technology is used to enhance instruction, meet individual student needs and establish a positive learning culture in the classroom.
  • Class meetings are scheduled in computer classrooms or computer labs with your instructor and classmates.
  • Note-taking guides aid students in organizational skills and in learning mathematics.
  • Retakes are allowed on all assessments until course learning objectives are mastered.
  • Individual student needs are met through a flexible pacing schedule that allows for acceleration through the course material.

Student support outside of class is available in the Math FIRST Labs in Careers Center Room 190 on the Arnold campus and in Room 311 in AACC at Arundel Mills.

Math Club

You’ll meet other math aficionados as you learn and share about interesting topics in mathematics as well as other fields of application.

Learn more on the Nest

Overcoming Math Anxiety Workshop

You can recognize and conquer math anxiety by attending a workshop to explore new approaches to learning math. Come find what works best for you. Workshops are free and preregistration is not required.

For information about the workshops, contact workshop leader, Nancy Chell, associate professor of mathematics, at nlchell@aacc.edu.

What you’ll gain form this workshop:

  • Identify past math experiences that get in your way.
  • Master math skills with five study steps.
  • Select the best study strategies for you.
  • Tame your fear of word problems.
  • Reduce test anxiety, relax and show what you know.
  • Use memory strategies for formulas and more.
  • Use internet and technology resources effectively.
  • Write and check your math work to minimize errors.

STEM Core

Bogged down with your math requirements? STEM Core at AACC is a program designed to grow the number of students interested in STEM-related careers while accelerating through your math requirements.

Learn more about the STEM Core program.

Questions?

We’re here to help.

School of Liberal Arts
Mathematics

Department Office

410-777-2360

Arthur Cimiluca
Assistant Dean

Ask In Person

Mathematics
Math Building 231
Arnold Campus

OFFICE HOURS ­ 

Monday-Thursday 
7:30 a.m.-7 p.m. 

Friday 
7:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

Math FIRST Lab

Careers 190

HOURS

Monday-Thursday
8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Friday
8 a.m.-4 p.m.

Saturday
8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Sunday
Closed

Additional Math Labs >>