Back to Top
AACC student reviewing a handout in her classroom.

Math provides the foundation of many of the top careers in business, finance, engineering, science and more. If you enjoy deciphering equations and putting your problem-solving skills to the test, mathematics may be a good starting point. Because math is essential to many fields of study, it is also a general education requirement that all degree-seeking students must complete.

Whether you struggle or are a whiz in math, we meet you where you are, including if you placed into a developmental math class. For information on how you can improve your skills, especially if it’s been awhile since you took a math class, check out the Resources for Students available on this page. Here you’ll find support in math labs, tutoring, overcoming math anxiety workshops and our Math FIRS3T redesign program, which provides both self-paced and guided developmental math materials to speed up your studies and increase your proficiency.


Majors

Prepare for transfer to a four-year institution majoring in mathematics or other subjects requiring a strong math background. Develop analytic skills, computer- based problem solving ability and the use of mathematical reasoning to further the scientific method.  

Learn more about majoring in Mathematics.


Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty

Jennifer Birdsell
410-777-2562
jlbirdsell@aacc.edu 

Abigail M. Brackins, Ph.D.
410-777-2559
ambrackins@aacc.edu 

Frederick D. Chapple Jr.
410-777-2556
fdchapple@aacc.edu

Arthur E Cimiluca Jr.
410-777-2583
aecimiluca@aacc.edu

Sybille R. Clayton
410-777-2565
sclayton1@aacc.edu

Marci H. Collins-Stewart
410-777-2590
mhcollins@aacc.edu

Angela V Desai, Ph.D.
410-777-1286
avdesai@aacc.edu

Jeffrey Feuer, Ph.D.
410-777-2586
jfeuer@aacc.edu 

Susan Ficken, Ph.D.
410-777-2563
sficken@aacc.edu

Mary O. Kassebaum, Ph.D.
410-777-2485  
mokassebaum@aacc.edu

Monica Leid
410-777-2584
mmleid@aacc.edu

Thao-Nhi Luu
410-777-2557
tluu@aacc.edu 

James P. Messenger     
410-777-1804    
jpmessenger@aacc.edu

Stacey O. Nicholls, Ph.D.
410-777-2569    
sonicholls@aacc.edu 

Jessica O'Leary
410-777-1264
joleary1@aacc.edu

Beth A. O'Reilly
410-777-1867    
boreilly@aacc.edu

Tiffany Padgett
410-777-2561
tapadgett@aacc.edu 

Heather M. Riordan
410-777-2184 
hmriordan@aacc.edu

Lindsay Roark
410-777-2029
lrroark@aacc.edu 

Tracy M. Sorrells 
410-777-2575
tmsorrells@aacc.edu

Melissa B. Spurlock
410-777-2506    
mbspurlock@aacc.edu

Robyn A. Toman
410-777-2588    
ratoman@aacc.edu

Michael F. Wright
410-777-2558    
mfwright@aacc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Naeem Ahmad
nahmad1@aacc.edu 

Arnel Anog
aanog@aacc.edu 

Paul Arnold
pearnold@aacc.edu 

Edward (Ted) Ashton
Ebaston1@aacc.edu 

Linda Barker
lsbarker1@aacc.edu 

Steve Bast
srbast@aacc.edu

Dare Brown
rdbrown1@aacc.edu 

Ronnie Brown
rlbrown20@aacc.edu 

Nathan Bruchey
nrbruchey@aacc.edu 

Ronald Burthe
rjburthe@aacc.edu 

Anthony Calise
ajcalise@aacc.edu 

Ashley Cann
acann@aacc.edu 

David Caruthers
dwcaruthers@aacc.edu 

Lynne Clark
lclark4@aacc.edu 

Rodney Clark
rdclark@aacc.edu 

Dereck Cyrus
dcyrus2@aacc.edu 

Maya Dodson
mndodson1@aacc.edu 

Rufus Elemo
roelemo@aacc.edu 

Ryan Fescina
rmfescina@aacc.edu 

John Foulkes
jbfoulkes@aacc.edu 

Ruth Goldstraw
rfgoldstraw@aacc.edu 

Kimberly Guinn
kguinn@aacc.edu

James Hall
jhall12@aacc.edu

Rochelle Harley
rbharley@aacc.edu 

Tamara Harris
tlharris4@aacc.edu 

Kathy Hays
kehays@aacc.edu 

Betty Henderson
bwhenderson@aacc.edu 

Ron Herzfeld
rherzfeld@aacc.edu

Lisa Jackson
ljackson24@aacc.edu

Alan Kasmer
afkasmer@aacc.edu 

Sadaf Khurshid
skhurshid@aacc.edu 

Charles (Tag) Landon
cllandon1@aacc.edu

Si Le
scle@aacc.edu 

Travis Loving
tloving@aacc.edu   

Kevin McCoy
kjmccoy@aacc.edu

Nancie Moebius
namoebius@aacc.edu

Tim Myers
timyers@aacc.edu

Robert C. Newton
rcnewton@aacc.edu 

Ken Nwocha
knnwocha@aacc.edu 

Carolyn Pratt
cepratt1@aacc.edu 

Barbara Priestman
bapriestman@aacc.edu

Brian Ray
bdray1@aacc.edu 

Michael Risha
mprisha@aacc.edu

Jose Ruiz
jruiz1@aacc.edu 

Marchonda Sanders
mlsanders6@aacc.edu 

Donna Schafer
dsschafer@aacc.edu

Isaiah Showell
ishowell@aacc.edu

Justin Silas
jlsilas@aacc.edu 

Dan Symancyk
dfsymancyk@aacc.edu 

Aaron Stanley
amstanley2@aacc.edu 

Deborah Webb
dpwebb@aacc.edu

Mara Whiteman
mawhiteman@aacc.edu 

Linda Wieder
ljwieder@aacc.edu 

Office Staff

Linder Birner
Math Program Technician
lbirner@aacc.edu 

Christina Songy
Mathematics Support Coordinator
cmsongy@aacc.edu 


Resources for Students

Developmental Math

If you placed into a developmental math course, you should begin developmental math requirements in your first term and continue in your required sequence until your college level math is complete.

Please note that you have the option to retake the Math Accuplacer test if you first complete a structured review. However, once you have taken a developmental math class, you cannot retake the Accuplacer test. You will need to complete the developmental requirements before progressing to college credit math classes. Accuplacer retesting information can be found at an AACC Testing Center.

Talk to an advisor about your options, including accelerated options, which are recommended strongly for eligible students. You may want to consider AACC’s Math FIRST program as well.

Learn more about developmental math pathways.

Math Tutoring

Get additional help from math tutors on the Arnold campus and at AACC at Arundel Mills.

Learn more about tutoring resources.

Math FIRST in Developmental Math

An alternative approach for developmental math students, AACC’s Math FIRST program is available for three developmental math courses: MAT-034 Quantitative Foundations, MAT-036 Foundations of College Algebra, and MAT-037 Introduction to College Algebra.

How you benefit as a student in The Math FIRST redesign program:

  • Technology is used to enhance instruction, meet individual student needs and establish a positive learning culture in the classroom.
  • Class meetings are scheduled in computer classrooms or computer labs with your instructor and classmates.
  • Note-taking guides aid students in organizational skills and in learning mathematics.
  • Retakes are allowed on all assessments until course learning objectives are mastered.
  • Individual student needs are met through a flexible pacing schedule that allows for acceleration through the course material.

Student support outside of class is available in the Math FIRST Labs in Careers Center Room 190 on the Arnold campus and in Room 311 in AACC at Arundel Mills.

Math Club

You’ll meet other math aficionados as you learn and share about interesting topics in mathematics as well as other fields of application.

Learn more on the Nest

Overcoming Math Anxiety Workshop

You can recognize and conquer math anxiety by attending a workshop to explore new approaches to learning math. Come find what works best for you. Workshops are free and preregistration is not required.

For information about the workshops, contact workshop leader, Nancy Chell, associate professor of mathematics, at nlchell@aacc.edu.

What you’ll gain form this workshop:

  • Identify past math experiences that get in your way.
  • Master math skills with five study steps.
  • Select the best study strategies for you.
  • Tame your fear of word problems.
  • Reduce test anxiety, relax and show what you know.
  • Use memory strategies for formulas and more.
  • Use internet and technology resources effectively.
  • Write and check your math work to minimize errors.

STEM Core

Bogged down with your math requirements? STEM Core at AACC is a program designed to grow the number of students interested in STEM-related careers while accelerating through your math requirements.

Learn more about the STEM Core program.


Questions?

We’re here to help.

School of Liberal Arts
Mathematics

Department Office

410-777-2360

Arthur Cimiluca
Assistant Dean